St. James's Church
St. James's Church, St. James's Road, Hampton Hill, TW12 1DQ

Musical Director: William Petter
Accompanist: Paul Ayres

A Meditation on the Sacred Passion of the Holy Redeemer as part of St James’s 150th Anniversary programme. This much loved musical meditation vividly portrays the Passion of Christ. It was composed by John Stainer, first performed in 1887 and scored for a SATB choir and organ, featuring solos for bass and tenor. The text was written by W. J. Sparrow Simpson, the librettist of Stainer's two earlier oratorios, The Daughter of Jairus and Mary Magdalene. The work is dedicated "to my pupil and friend W. Hodge and the choir of Marylebone Church", who first performed it on February 24, 1887, the day after Ash Wednesday.

There was a retiring collection in aid of The Greenwood Centre.

The oratorio consists of the following movements:
01. And They Came to a Place Named Gethsemane (tenor recitative)
02. The Agony (tenor and bass solo and chorus)
03. Processional to Calvary (organ solo) and "Fling Wide the Gates" (chorus and tenor solo)
04. And When They Were Come (bass recitative)
05. The Mystery of the Divine Humiliation (hymn)
06. He Made Himself of No Reputation (bass recitative)
07. The Majesty of the Divine Humiliation tenor solo
08. And As Moses Lifted Up the Serpent (bass recitative)
09. God So Loved the World (chorus or quartet a cappella)
10. Litany of the Passion (hymn)
11. Jesus Said, 'Father, Forgive Them' (tenor and male chorus recitative)
12. So Thou Liftest Thy Divine Petition (tenor and bass solo duet)
13. The Mystery of the Intercession (hymn)
14. And One of the Malefactors (bass solo and male chorus)
15. The Adoration of the Crucified (hymn)
16. When Jesus Therefore Saw His Mother (tenor solo and male chorus)
17. Is It Nothing to You? (bass solo)
18. The Appeal of the Crucified (chorus)
19. After This, Jesus Knowing That All Things Were Now Accomplished (tenor and male chorus recitative)
20. For the Love of Jesus (hymn)

The Crucifixion

See more photographs